41 students named Myrdis Walker Scholars

WEST COLUMBIA, S.C. -- Forty-one Lexington Two students are being honored as Myrdis Walker Scholars.

The district program, established in 1990, recognizes African-American students in eighth through 12th grades who have demonstrated academic excellence.  It is named for Myrdis Walker, who taught for many years at the former R. Earle Davis Elementary School in Lexington Two.


This year’s inductees from the district's two high schools and four middle schools include:

Airport High School: Hazia Bethea, Tinaye Watson Wesley


Brookland-Cayce High School: John Kelly, Sofiane Lachab, Aiyanna Lane, Amari Lykes, Jimani Moore, Zyon Robinson,  Miracle Wortherly


Busbee Creative Arts Academy: David Daniels, JaVaughn Moore, Jhurmani Murphy, Austin Sullivan, Kalvin Valentine,  Amber Way


Fulmer Middle School: William Beamer, Ja'sia Booth, Corey Campbell, Alyssa Ceacal, Christian Earl, Infiniti Guess, Brianna Harris, Erin Jones, Rayne-Marie Morris, Shamari Rogers, Jacob Terrell, Timothy Weston


Northside Middle School: Reign Aligbe, Jaiden Baskett, Jantz Bryant, Jasmine Hart, Izeah Marcyes, Zahria Moser, Kelsey Sharperson, Ny'yanna Wilson


Pine Ridge Middle School: Camya Bailey, Caleb Ford, Yamahni Johnson, Avery Jones, Mya Taylor, Jaylynn Spires


Amid COVID-19, students will be recognized at their schools, rather than through the annual district-wide ceremony.