Lexington Two's Rookie Teachers of the Year announced

WEST COLUMBIA, SC – Lexington Two announced its Rookie Teachers of the Year during a celebration for first-year teachers and their school mentors.

Among the 67 Lexington Two induction teachers in the 2022-2023 school year, those recognized as Rookie Teachers of the Year are:

Early Childhood: Casey Corbitt, Cayce Elementary School

Elementary: Sara Godsey, Riverbank Elementary School

Middle: Kendall Branton, Fulmer Middle School

High: Erin Niland, Airport High School

Branton was also selected District Rookie Teacher of the Year.

“This year's class of Induction teachers was most impressive with their collective ability to help our district define what post-pandemic schools and learning should look like,” said Philip Rabon, the district’s mentor coach who works with first-year teachers.  “They overcame and persevered through all of the normal challenges novice educators face, while additionally responding to issues directly tied to COVID.  Their willingness to serve and exceed expectations proves they are truly ‘Champions for Children.’ “

Rookie Teachers of the Year are nominated by their principals based on their professionalism in the classroom and in meeting the needs of their Lexington Two students.