49 students inducted into Myrdis Walker Scholars program


WEST COLUMBIA, SC -- Forty-nine Lexington Two students have been inducted into the Myrdis Walker Scholars program.

The program recognizes district African-American students in eighth through 12th grades who have demonstrated the potential to excel in academics. An induction ceremony was held Feb. 15.

Eligible students must be identified as gifted, according to the South Carolina criteria, or have acquired a class rank in the top 15 percent of his/her high school class.  An additional goal of the program is to establish a peer support group of outstanding African-American student scholars in the district. The program is named for Myrdis Walker, an inspiring educator who taught for many years at R. Earle Davis Elementary School in Lexington Two.

This year’s inductees include:

Busbee Creative Arts Academy

Madison Bell

Desmond Brown

Evana Brown

Niree Chandler

Jeremy Daniels

Zach Glenn

Tony McCoy

Kristina Randolph

Dylan Roberts

Isaiah Swope

Fulmer Middle

Jahad Allen

Adiah Anderson

Jasmine Booth

Jamia Douglas

Tiaryca Green

Simone Jones

Acacia Jones

Shamia Pelzer

Ashley Robinson

Taahir Sabree

Jeremiah Smith


Northside Middle

Keelen Cooper Brooks

Joshua Kinard

McKenzie Moore

Sameria Nelson

Jailyn Pringle

Evan Sloan

Kevon Tyler

Arayna Webb

Alena Young

Pine Ridge Middle

Aisha Albert

Jasmine Boston           

Ja’mese Corbitt

Amayah Harmon

Marques Hudson

Sa’Nyiah James

Michael Lykes

Arianna Pee

Naizja Redding

Kendall Singleton

Micah Taylor

Brandon Walters

Airport High

Isha Bojang

Kimberly Humes

Jacee Jackson

Brookland-Cayce High

Niaja Holman

Emanie Jeffers

Janetts Macon

Dantae Vereen